Sunday drive to Seltún and Kleifarvatn

DSC01541x

I mentioned, in an earlier post, that I have a new car which serves the dual purpose of daily transport and motorhome. The objective of taking it out for a day’s driving was, partly, to test everything before I set off on an overnight trip. I wanted to get used to driving a car that is longer and slightly wider than my old one, test the equipment and generally learn the car. I also wanted to see how the interior would test out, i.e. the bed, cupboards and drawers my father and I installed to turn the van into a motor home.

DSC01542

Apart from a drawer that wanted to stay open and some creaking of the wood and rattling of things I hadn’t secured properly, it acquitted itself very nicely. The Saturday drive tested the installed interior for noise, and the comfort and manoeuvrability of the vehicle. On Sunday I took it out again, this time to test it on a hilly, winding road that is part gravel, part tarmac. Aside form a minor difficulty on a steep, very gravelly hill, the car performed well and I considered myself prepared to take it on an overnight expedition.

(I have been on two since then. More on that in a later post.)

Lastly, here are some photos from the Seltún geothermal area, which I visited during the drive:

DSC01543

DSC01544

DSC01547

One thought on “Sunday drive to Seltún and Kleifarvatn

Leave a Reply

